What is a treaty country?

The Netherlands has various treaties with other countries. However, we only have agreements with the following countries relating to medical care in the event of emigration:

  • EU countries
  • EEA countries
  • treaty countries outside the EU/EEA

We refer to these countries as ‘treaty countries’.

Overview of treaty countries

EU countries

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus (Greek part only), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (including Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, St. Martin and La RĂ©union), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores), Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including Ceuta, Melilla and the Canary Islands), Sweden.

Please note

The United Kingdom has left the EU (Brexit). What this means for the agreements on medical care after emigration is not yet clear.

Read the latest news about Brexit

EEA countries

These countries are not part of the EU, but EU rules apply there:

Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway. The same also applies to Switzerland.

Treaty countries outside the EU/EEA

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey.

Is your new country of residence not included in the list?

Are you emigrating to the ‘Netherlands Antilles’ (the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba), Indonesia, Thailand or Australia, for example? In that case the Netherlands has not entered into any agreements with your new country of residence relating to medical care in that country. Take out health insurance for yourself and any family members who are moving with you in your new country of residence. For more information contact the embassy or consulate of your new country of residence.


What are you searching for?

Tip: enter one or two words.

De website van het CAK maakt gebruik van cookies.

Wij kunnen u dan zo goed mogelijk helpen. Het accepteren van cookies zorgt ervoor dat deze website goed werkt en dat wij onze website steeds kunnen verbeteren.
Uiteraard zorgen wij goed voor uw privacy.