What is a treaty country?

The Netherlands has made agreements with a number of countries on medical care in case of emigration. These countries are called ‘treaty countries’. 

These are: 

  • EU/EEA countries plus Switzerland and the United Kingdom 
  • a few countries outside the EU/EEA

Overview of treaty countries

EU countries (European Union)

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus (Greek part only), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (including Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, St. Martin and La RĂ©union), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores), Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (including Ceuta, Melilla and the Canary Islands), Sweden.

Other countries of the EEA (European Economic Area)

Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway 


United Kingdom

England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland

Other treaty countries

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey.

What are you searching for?

Tip: enter one or two words.

De website van het CAK maakt gebruik van cookies.

Wij kunnen u dan zo goed mogelijk helpen. Het accepteren van cookies zorgt ervoor dat deze website goed werkt en dat wij onze website steeds kunnen verbeteren.
Uiteraard zorgen wij goed voor uw privacy.